Downton Abbey!

I’ve been a big fan of Downton Abbey ever since its first season, so when PBS announced via Twitter last month that they were giving passes to a Downton event in New York, I jumped at the chance. All I had to do was email them with my name and phone number and be in Manhattan on December 12. Granted, I don’t actually live in New York, but I was totally willing to make the 4-hour trek to the city! So I emailed and a few weeks later, I received an email confirming my spot. I was IN! So off I went to the Big Apple to revel in all my PBS nerdery.

20131218-235956.jpg

So Thomas came in with a fist-pump. That happened.


Guests were treated to a preview of the upcoming fourth season followed by a panel discussion with the cast and an audience Q&A. It was a fun evening with lively conversations from the actors (especially from Rob James-Collier, aka Thomas the under butler, who was an absolutely charming rascal). Click here for the full video of the Q&A, and go to 1:06:22 to see an uber fan dressed as Lady Edith on her wedding day!

Can’t wait to catch the show in January!

20131219-000002.jpg

(left to right) Gareth Neame (producer), Mrs. Patmore, Mrs. Hughes, Thomas, Lady Edith, Lord Grantham, Branson, Julian Fellowes (show creator), PBS moderator


PBS seems to have really stepped up their publicity this year with a Downton tea truck that roamed around Manhattan with costumed actors serving hot cups of
English rose tea. Such a great idea (and very welcomed, considering the 20 degree weather!).

20131219-001654.jpg

Leave a Reply

